Our board

Jobs for NSW Board

David Thodey - Chair
David Thodey

As Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director of Telstra, Mr Thodey was responsible for the company's corporate, government and large business customers. He plays a significant leadership role in the Australian business community, particularly with the B20 – the business advisory forum of the G20. He is the current Chair of the CSIRO, Australia’s national scientific research organisation.

Karen Borg - Chief Executive Officer
Karen Borg
Chief Executive Officer

Ms Borg is a senior executive specialising in international business development. Her leadership experience in underpinned by many years creating and implementing strategies that have driven growth and market share in emerging and mature markets. In her previous role, Ms Borg was the President of ResMed for the Asia Pacific and Middle East. She has held senior positions in business operating across the UK, Asia, and the USA.

Jane Cay - Board member
Jane Cay
Board Member

Ms Cay is the founder of successful Australian online retailer Birdsnest. She has won accolades for her entrepreneurial skills and business that employs over 100 locals in regional Cooma. In 2013 she became a founding board member of the National Online Retailers Association.

Craig Dunn - Board member
Craig Dunn
Board Member

Drawing on 20 years of experience in finance strategy, mergers and acquisitions at AMP and Colonial in Australia, and KPMG in Europe and Asia, Mr Dunn is the recently appointed chair of Stone and Chalk, Sydney’s new Fintech hub, and the Australian Government’s Fintech Advisory Group.

Chris Roberts - Board member
Chris Roberts
Board Member

Dr Roberts has 40 years experience in international medical device businesses, including as CEO/President of Cochlear Limited from 2004 to 2015.  He is currently a director of ResMed Inc, and is a PLuS Alliance Professor at UNSW, Kings College London and Arizona State University.

Helen Zimmerman - Board member
Helen Zimmerman
Board Member

Ms Zimmerman has extensive experience in the education sector with senior roles at the ACL Group and as President of the International Education Association of Australia. She is currently the Chief Corporate Affairs Officer for Navitas Ltd, and chairs the Advisory Group of the Language Testing Research Centre at the University of Melbourne and the Australian Business and Community Network Board.

Blair Comley - Board member
Blair Comley PSM
Board Member

Mr Comley is the Secretary of the NSW Department of Premier and Cabinet and the state’s senior public servant. Currently on the Board of Infrastructure Australia, he has held a range of senior positions in the Treasury and more recently was Secretary of the Commonwealth Department of Resources, Energy and Tourism and the Department of Climate Change and Energy Efficiency.

Simon Smith - Board member
Simon Smith
Board Member

As Secretary of the Department of Industry, Mr Smith is a trained economist who has worked in the NSW public sector since 1994, with a focus on the nexus between the economy and the environment. Previously, he was Chief Executive of the Office of Finance and Services and Deputy Secretary at the Department of Premier and Cabinet.