Regional innovation

Innovation across NSW

NSW Government invests $2.1 million in Local Innovation Network to turbocharge innovation across NSW

The NSW Government, through Jobs for NSW, has announced a $2.1 million investment across seven emerging innovation areas to boost their startup and SME communities, with a focus on innovation in our regions.

The seven locations, in collaboration with Jobs for NSW, will work together in a Local Innovation Network to help entrepreneurs in NSW get the support they need to grow.

The areas identified are:

  • Bathurst
  • Wagga Wagga
  • Armidale
  • Coffs Harbour
  • Byron Bay
  • Newcastle
  • Wollongong

Successful proposals should demonstrate collaboration and leverage the region’s competitive strengths while addressing growth impediments unique to that specific area.

Jobs for NSW ran an Expression of Interest (EOI) process seeking proposals from these seven identified areas.

The EOI has now closed.

More information

Learn more about Jobs for NSW’s existing support for regional entrepreneurs, including startup grants, a dedicated Regional Growth Loan which provides interest-free loans of up to $500k for fast growth regional SMEs, and the Regional Landing Pad at the Sydney Startup Hub.